Thursday
26. October
2023
Thu
26. Oct
2023
20:30
20:30

Cinzia Catania (*1988) grew up in Lenzburg, Aargau, in a very artistic environment. The voice of the young Swiss singer and composer is unique – crystal clear and yet warm and soft. Light as a feather and with rhythmic precision, she sings bossa nova and swing and easily masters technically and harmonically complex jazz compositions. […]

more...
Jazzclub Moods
Schiffbaustrasse 6
8005 Zürich
Map
Friday
6. October
2023
Fri
6. Oct
2023
20:30
20:30

Walther K. Lang is proof that it is never too late to pursue your passion. As a young musician, he dreamed of becoming a jazz composer, but – this sounds familiar to many – the obligations of his profession kept him from doing so. Until now. Now he has written a full-length big band program. […]

more...
Musikklub Mehrspur
Förrlibuckstrasse 109
8005 Zürich
Map
Thursday
28. September
2023
Thu
28. Sep
2023
20:00
20:00

It was this unerring timing and incredible drive that made the Count Basie Orchestra the epitome of swinging joie de vivre. The 1960s was a fruitful decade of performances and recordings for Count Basie and his orchestra, and the album “Kansas City Suite” kicked it off. The 10-movement suite was composed by Benny Carter specifically […]

more...
Wednesday
7. June
2023
Wed
7. Jun
2023
20:00
20:00

The “Ellington Suites”, written over the course of several years, are the focus of this concert evening. In addition to the complete masterpiece “Far East Suite” by Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn from 1964, the ZJO will also play excerpts from Ellington’s suites “Peer Gynt” and “Such Sweet Thunder”, as well as music composed by […]

more...
Kulturmarkt Zürich
Aemtlerstrasse 23
8003 Zürich
Map
Thursday
11. May
2023
Thu
11. May
2023
20:30
20:30

Zurich Jazz Orchestra Vocal Artistry Series Efrat Alony and Ed Partyka have been working together for almost 20 years and have recorded with the Sunday Night Orchestra and the Ed Partyka Jazz Orchestra. They have also performed together with the UMO Helsinki Jazz Orchestra and the HR Big Band. The singer, bandleader and composer, who […]

more...
Jazzclub Moods
Schiffbaustrasse 6
8005 Zürich
Map
Thursday
13. April
2023
Thu
13. Apr
2023
20:30
20:30

The long-standing and very fruitful partnership between Thomas Gansch and the ZJO will continue this year. In addition to the repertoire from the past, there will be new arrangements written by Ed Partyka especially for this concert, presenting Thomas Gansch as a composer and multi-instrumental soloist, but also as an amiable “enfant terrible”. In addition, […]

more...
Jazzclub Moods
Schiffbaustrasse 6
8005 Zürich
Map
Thursday
23. March
2023
Thu
23. Mar
2023
20:30
20:30

German composer and pianist Claudia Döffinger presents her compositions and arrangements with the Australian singer Kristin Berardi with the Zurich Jazz Orchestra. Claudia Döffinger’s love for the sound of big bands is noticeable through her fresh approach: she combines experimental sounds with dense chords. In this way, hip-hop, indie and funk merge organically with her […]

more...
Jazzclub Moods
Schiffbaustrasse 6
8005 Zürich
Map
Saturday
18. March
2023
Sat
18. Mar
2023
20:00
20:00
«Miles oder die Pendeluhr aus Montreux» is an homage to a jazz genius, a man suffering from loneliness and prejudice. It tells about the beauty of Juliette Gréco, Swiss watches, of favourite chords and beloved people. more...
Theater Rigiblick
Germaniastrasse 99
8044 Zürich
Map
Sunday
12. March
2023
Sun
12. Mar
2023
10:30
10:30

Zurich Jazz Orchestra Vocal Artistry Series Viviane de Farias’ vocals are rhythmically strong and her voice is very versatile, soft and bright at the same time. It also contains just the right amount of lyrical emotionality – everything we love about Música Popular Brasileira. The Zurich Jazz Orchestra and Viviane de Farias will perform Jobim […]

more...
Theater Winterthur
Theaterstrasse 6
8401 Winterthur
Map
Saturday
11. March
2023
Sat
11. Mar
2023
21:30
21:30

Zurich Jazz Orchestra Vocal Artistry Series as part of Mehrspur’s «Jazz Spectrum 2» Viviane de Farias’ vocals are rhythmically strong and her voice is very versatile, soft and bright at the same time. It also contains just the right amount of lyrical emotionality – everything we love about Música Popular Brasileira. The Zurich Jazz Orchestra […]

more...
Musikklub Mehrspur
Förrlibuckstrasse 109
8005 Zürich
Map

Freitag
6. Oktober
2023
Fr
6. Okt
2023
20:30
20:30

Walther K. Lang ist der Beweis dafür, dass es nie zu spät ist, seine Leidenschaft zu verfolgen. Als junger Musiker träumte er davon, Jazzkomponist zu werden, aber – das kommt vielen bekannt vor – die Verpflichtungen seines Berufs hielten ihn davon ab. Bis jetzt. Nun hat er ein abendfüllendes Big-Band-Programm geschrieben. Seine Inspirationsquellen sind dabei […]

mehr…
Musikklub Mehrspur
Förrlibuckstrasse 109
8005 Zürich
Karte
Donnerstag
28. September
2023
Do
28. Sep
2023
20:00
20:00

Es waren dieses untrügliche Timing und der unglaubliche Drive, die das Count Basie Orchestra zum Inbegriff der swingenden Lebensfreude werden liessen. Die 1960er Jahre waren ein fruchtbares Jahrzehnt der Auftritte und Aufnahmen für Count Basie und sein Orchester, und das Album «Kansas City Suite» war der Auftakt. Die 10-sätzige Suite wurde von Benny Carter speziell […]

mehr…
Mittwoch
7. Juni
2023
Mi
7. Jun
2023
20:00
20:00

Die «Ellington Suites», im Laufe mehrerer Jahre entstanden, stehen im Mittelpunkt dieses Konzertabends. Neben dem kompletten Meisterwerk «Far East Suite» von Duke Ellington und Billy Strayhorn aus dem Jahr 1964 wird das ZJO auch Ausschnitte aus Ellingtons Suiten «Peer Gynt» und «Such Sweet Thunder» spielen, sowie Musik, die Duke Ellington für den Soundtrack des Otto-Preminger-Films […]

mehr…
Kulturmarkt Zürich
Aemtlerstrasse 23
8003 Zürich
Karte
Donnerstag
11. Mai
2023
Do
11. Mai
2023
20:30
20:30

Zurich Jazz Orchestra Vocal Artistry Series Efrat Alony und Ed Partyka arbeiten schon bald 20 Jahre lang zusammen und haben Aufnahmen mit dem Sunday Night Orchestra und dem Ed Partyka Jazz Orchestra gemacht. Darüber hinaus sind sie gemeinsam mit dem UMO Helsinki Jazz Orchestra und der HR Big Band aufgetreten. Die Sängerin, Bandleaderin und Komponistin, […]

mehr…
Jazzclub Moods
Schiffbaustrasse 6
8005 Zürich
Karte
Donnerstag
13. April
2023
Do
13. Apr
2023
20:30
20:30

Die langjährige und sehr fruchtbare Partnerschaft zwischen Thomas Gansch und dem Zurich Jazz Orchestra wird auch dieses Jahr fortgesetzt. Neben Repertoire aus der Vergangenheit wird es neue Arrangements geben, die von Ed Partyka speziell für dieses Konzert geschrieben wurden und die Thomas Gansch als Komponisten und Multi-Instrumental-Solisten, aber auch als liebenswürdiges enfant terrible präsentieren. Ausserdem […]

mehr…
Jazzclub Moods
Schiffbaustrasse 6
8005 Zürich
Karte
Donnerstag
23. März
2023
Do
23. Mrz
2023
20:30
20:30

Die deutsche Komponistin und Pianistin Claudia Döffinger präsentiert mit dem Zurich Jazz Orchestra ihre Kompositionen und Arrangements zusammen mit der australischen Sängerin Kristin Berardi. Claudia Döffingers Liebe zum Sound von Big Bands wird durch ihre frische Herangehensweise spürbar: Sie kombiniert experimentelle Sounds mit dichten Akkorden. So verschmelzen Hip-Hop, Indie und Funk organisch mit ihren Werken […]

mehr…
Jazzclub Moods
Schiffbaustrasse 6
8005 Zürich
Karte
Samstag
18. März
2023
Sa
18. Mrz
2023
20:00
20:00
Eine Hommage an das Jazz-Genie Miles Davis. Der Text wirft nicht nur ein neues Licht auf einen grossartigen Musiker, er öffnet einem auch das Herz. Musikalisches Motiv ist «Sketches of Spain» aus der Perspektive eines Schrotthändlers, der das Konzert hinter der Bühne erlebt. Im Zentrum steht die Freundschaft zwischen dem einfachen Mann und dem grossen Musikgenie. mehr…
Theater Rigiblick
Germaniastrasse 99
8044 Zürich
Karte
Sonntag
12. März
2023
So
12. Mrz
2023
10:30
10:30

Zurich Jazz Orchestra Vocal Artistry Series Viviane de Farias’ Gesang ist rhythmisch stark und ihre Stimme sehr vielseitig, weich und gleichzeitig hell. Ausserdem enthält sie genau den richtigen Anteil an lyrischer Emotionalität – alles, was wir an der Música Popular Brasileira so lieben. Das Zurich Jazz Orchestra spielt mit ihr neben Jobim-Klassikern wie «Desafinado» und […]

mehr…
Theater Winterthur
Theaterstrasse 6
8401 Winterthur
Karte
Samstag
11. März
2023
Sa
11. Mrz
2023
21:30
21:30

Zurich Jazz Orchestra Vocal Artistry Series im Rahmen des Mehrspur «Jazz Spectrum 2» Viviane de Farias’ Gesang ist rhythmisch stark und ihre Stimme sehr vielseitig, weich und gleichzeitig hell. Ausserdem enthält sie genau den richtigen Anteil an lyrischer Emotionalität – alles, was wir an der Música Popular Brasileira so lieben. Das Zurich Jazz Orchestra spielt […]

mehr…
Musikklub Mehrspur
Förrlibuckstrasse 109
8005 Zürich
Karte
Mittwoch
8. März
2023
Mi
8. Mrz
2023
20:00
20:00
Linda Porter, Spross einer sehr reichen und angesehenen Familie aus Virginia, war 34 Jahre lang die Ehefrau des amerikanischen Komponisten und Liedtexters Cole Porter. mehr…
Theater Rigiblick
Germaniastrasse 99
8044 Zürich
Karte